Home Page

The EYFS Curriculum

Learning in Nursery


Nursery children learn together in an environment which is developed around the children’s interests. We pride ourselves on being an exciting and engaging place to be – encouraging our children to be independent learners through a range of practical activities. We encourage children to lead their own learning.




As our nursery children enter the classroom they learn primarily through a variety of play and real-life experiences. Their development is tracked through detailed, daily observations and child-initiated interaction. This information is then transferred into your child’s learning journey – a diary of information and photographs.



The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum


In nursery, children follow the EYFS Framework. the curriculum is based upon four themes and principles:



The Unique Child – we understand that every child is an individual child who is capable in their own right. The holistic child has a variety of needs that need meeting over their time in nursery.


Positive Relationships – Social interaction  is key to children’s development. Children become strong, independent learners, as well as scaffolding their learning through positive social interaction.


Enabling Environments – Providing a safe, secure and stimulating base for your child is key to their development. The framework allows for experiences that respond to the child’s individual needs/interests; as well as developing a strong partnership between practitioners, parents and carers.


Learning and Development – Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework cover the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Early Learning Goals


Within ‘Development Matters’ there are 3 areas of learning and 4 specific areas. The framework provides the basis of how we structure the setting, the activities and the opportunities we provide; as well as how we assess your child’s development. For each of these areas your child will have an ‘Early Learning Goal’ to work towards which they will be expected to achieve at the end of their reception year.


Prime Areas


  • Communication and Language

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Physical Development


Specific Areas


  • Literacy

  • Problem Solving, Numeracy and Reasoning

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


Characteristics of Effective Learning


  • Playing and Exploring

  • Active Learning

  • Creating and Thinking Critically